< Back to Navigation

Interactions.org - Particle Physics News and Resources

A communication resource from the world's particle physics laboratories

Interactions NewsWire #06-13
13 February 2013 http://www.interactions.org
*******************************************
Source: Linear Collider Collaboration/TRIUMF
Content: Media Advisory
Date Issued: 13 February 2013
*******************************************

Linear Collider Collaboration Press Conference

On 21 February 2013, worldwide efforts to understand the deepest secrets of the universe will achieve a new level of global partnership: a new organisation to coordinate and advance the global development work for the linear collider, the Linear Collider Collaboration, will take office at a meeting of the linear collider oversight committees at TRIUMF in Vancouver, Canada. The Linear Collider Collaboration will combine the two next-generation collider projects, the International Linear Collider ILC and the Compact Linear Collider CLIC, under one organisational roof and will be headed by Lyn Evans, former Project Manager of CERN's Large Hadron Collider (LHC).

The Linear Collider Board, headed by the University of Tokyo's Sachio Komamiya, is a new oversight committee for the Linear Collider Collaboration that will take up office at the same time.

There will be a press conference on 21 February 2013 at 4:00 pm Vancouver time (Pacific Standard Time) at TRIUMF, Canada's national laboratory for particle and nuclear physics. Lyn Evans (Director, Linear Collider Collaboration (LCC)) and Sachio Komamiya (Chair, Linear Collider Board) will speak at the conference, and Pier Oddone (Director, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, US and chair of the International Committee for Future Accelerators ICFA), Jonathan Bagger (Chair, ILC Steering Committee), Hitoshi Murayama (Vice Director, LCC), Mike Harrison (Associate Director for ILC, LCC), Steinar Stapnes (Associate Director for CLIC, LCC), Hitoshi Yamamoto (Associate Director for Physics and Detectors, LCC) and Barry Barish (Director Global Design Effort, GDE) will be available for questions. Journalists wishing to attend should contact Tim Meyer, TRIUMF's Head of Strategic Planning & Communications at tmeyer@triumf.ca (or +1-604-222-7674) or the Linear Collider Communications team at communicators@linearcollider.org.

The press conference will be webcast at: http://mediasitemob1.mediagroup.ubc.ca/Mediasite/Play/4927082a86c441c3bbf1ee94611b0c131d. Journalists will have the opportunity to ask questions via the online webcast using a standard internet browser.

About the Linear Collider Collaboration:

The ILC and CLIC are potential next-generation particle colliders that would complement the Large Hadron Collider LHC at CERN. The Linear Collider Collaboration is the organisation that brings the two projects together to coordinate the research and development work that is being done for accelerators and detectors around the world. Although there is not yet a clear signal to launch the construction of a linear collider, there is consensus in the scientific community that the results from the LHC will have to be complemented by a collider that can study the discoveries in greater detail by producing different kinds of collisions.

Both projects will continue to exist and carry on their R&D activities, but with even more synergy between areas common to both. These include the detectors, the planning of the infrastructure, civil engineering aspects and more. The projects are at different stages of maturity: while CLIC published its Conceptual Design Report in 2012 and is scheduled to complete the Technical Design Report, which demonstrates feasibility for construction, in a couple of years, the ILC has completed the draft of its Technical Design Report in 2012 and will, after a series of reviews, publish the final version including a new figure for the projected cost, in June 2013. With the finalisation of the Technical Design Report, the ILC's design team, the Global Design Effort or GDE, headed by Barry Barish, formally completes its mandate, which is one of the reasons for the establishment of the new Linear Collider Collaboration.

Contact:

Tim Meyer, Head of Strategic Planning & Communications at TRIUMF
tmeyer@triumf.ca (or +1-604-222-7674)

Linear Collider Communications team
communicators@linearcollider.org

Images and background information:
www.linearcollider.org

General information:

Webcast:
Linear Collider Collaboration Press Conference
http://mediasitemob1.mediagroup.ubc.ca/Mediasite/Play/4927082a86c441c3bbf1ee94611b0c131d

Date:
Thursday, 21 February 2013

Time:
4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. PST
6:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m. CST
7:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. EST
0:00 a.m. – 1:00 a.m. GMT (22 February)
1:00 a.m. – 2:00 a.m. CET (22 February)
9:00 a.m. -10:00 a.m. JST (22 February)